Tipton Library
Your Library
Site Links

2018 Youth Media Award Winners

2018 Youth Media Award Winners

The winners of the 2018 Youth Media Awards presented by the American Library Association have been announced.

The winner of the Printz Award for excellence in YA literature went to We Are Okay by Nina LaCour. The book is about grief and the journey it takes to finally become “okay.”

The winner of the Newbery Medal for outstanding contribution to children’s literature went to Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly. The book is about four unlikely heroes and their quest to find self-acceptance and stop a bully.

The winner of the Caldecott Medal for distinguished children’s picture book went to Wolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell. This mostly wordless book is a story of doing good and helping others.

In addition to these big name awards, the Coretta Scott King Book Awards were also announced. Piecing Me Together, a young adult novel by Renee Watson, and Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets by Kwame Alexander (illustrated by Ekua Holmes), won for the author and illustrator awards, respectively.

The Morris Award for an author’s debut book (for teens) went to The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. The book tells the story of Starr, who witnesses her best friend be murdered by a police officer.

Find information about the winners and honorees for all the YMA Awards here.